A Profile of Diphu Govt. College

                    Diphu Govt. College was established in 1964 with the main aim of providing Higher Education in the backward Karbi Anglong District of Assam. Distinguished local leaders of that time like Chatra Sing Teron, Chandra Sing Teron, Dhaniram Rongpi, Jogendra Nath Goswami, Joy Sing Doloi, Sar Rongpi(who are no more now) and Sri P.K.Baruah were among its founders. The College did not have a building of its own. When the academic session started from July1965, classes were held in the evening at Diphu Govt. Boys’ High School. Professor P.K. Bhuyan was the first Principal of the College. Thus began a new venture in the field of Higher Education.


      Running a venture College was not an easy task. Fund became a paramount factor for the management. This made the leaders thinks of other ways and means to save the institution. It was then that Govt. of Assam was approached. In the year 1967, it was taken over by the Govt. of Assam and since then the College has never looked back. Within a few years, the College got its own building, which provides accommodation for classrooms, office room, departmental staff rooms, auditorium, library, etc. Besides, there are two Girls’ Hostels and one Boys’ Hostel. There are again 23 quarters for teachers and 6 quarters for non-teaching staff. Over the years, the College made much progress in infrastructural development out of grants received from sources like the UGC, Karbi Anglong Autonomous Council, Govt. of India, Govt. of Assam and MPLAD Fund.


      Having received much support and assistance, all out efforts are made to make the college an institution of rare distinction for imparting instructions from Higher Secondary to Post Graduate level.


      At present the college has three Streams (Faculties):  Arts, Science & Commerce. There are 15 ( fifteen) Departments altogether, namely, (1) Assamese (2) Bodo (3) Botany (4) Chemistry (5) Commerce (6) Economics (7) Education (8) English (9) Geography (10) History (11) Mathematics (12) Philosophy (13) Physics (14) Political Science & (15) Zoology. Of these 15 Departments, the following Departments have Honours Course, namely, Assamese, English, Economics, Commerce ( Business Management, Accountancy and Taxation), Education, Geography, History, Mathematics, Physics, Political Science, Philosophy,  Zoology & Chemistry.


        Keeping abreast with the development in present day education, a Computer Centre was set up in 1991. Since then the Centre has been providing “Computer Application Short Term Certificate Course to both students and teachers. A proposal was submitted to the Karbi Anglong Autonomous  Council for upgradation of the Centre so as to have complete Networking in the college.  


       With a view to promoting in the students and teachers an awareness and understanding of social needs of the country and prepare them for fulfilling such needs, a number of Forums have been formed, like, Diphu Govt. College  Students’ Union Society , Diphu Govt. College  Arts Society, Diphu Govt. College  Science  Society( Affiliated to all Assam Science Society), Diphu Govt. College  Commerce Society, Sahitya Chora, Planning Forum, Education Forum, Political Science Forum , Eco Club and Population Education Society, Entrepreneur Development Cell, Career Guidance Cell and DGC Cultural Society. There are also NCC & NSS units in the college.


      The college is affiliated to Assam (Central) University, Silchar. The medium of instruction in the college is English.


      Though the college was established mainly for the education of backward communities of Karbi Anglong District of Assam, its doors have been open to other  communities hailing from other parts of India. In this, however, care has been taken to ensure that an adequate number of students from the under privileged and socially handicapped sections of society are admitted to the college while maintaining the all India character. Hence the admission policy of the college is to reserve 60% of the seats for the ST/SC students. A few seats are reserved for the students with proven talents in co-curricular activities like sports, cultural and literary activities.


      During the last 40 years of its existence and with all its progress and development, which have brought it almost at par with the other colleges of the region, the college has never forgotten the main academic responsibility that its founders aspired to fulfill.


      The college is now contemplating on introducing more courses of study keeping in mind the needs of the hour. From the academic session, 2004-05 it is planned to introduce Computer Science and Statistics at the Higher Secondary level. The college is also planning to start Mushroom Growing Centre and Museum for Traditional Dress of NEI, in the near future.


1. The total area of the College Campus            = 87.98 Bighas (88 Bighas)        

                                                                          = 29.30 Acres.

2. Plinth area of the college Building:

                                (a) Ground Floor               = 3215.50 Sq. M.

                                (b) First Floor                    = 2765.50 Sq. M.

                                (c)  Auditorium                 = 402.00 Sq. M.

3. No of Class Rooms                                        = 29

4. No of Laboratory Rooms                               = 11

5. No of Department Staff Rooms                     = 15

6. Principal’s Chamber                                     = 1

7. Office Room                                                 = 1

8. Conference Hall                                            = 1

9. NCC Room                                                    = 1

10. Students’ Union Room                               = 1

11. Students’ Recreation Rooms                      = 2

12. Canteen                                                      = 1

13. Post Office                                                   = 1

14. Girls Hostel                                                = 2

15. Boys’ Hostel                                                = 1

16. Staff Quarter (Teaching)                             = 23

17. Staff Quarter (Non-Teaching)                      = 6

18. Principal’s Quarter                                      = 1

19. Hostels Superintendent Quarters               = 2

20. (a) Total No. of Books                                   = 43251

      (b) Total No. of Books for P.G. Departments:

                                             (i) History             = 2052

                                             (ii) Pol. Science    = 3349

21. UGC Grants under the Ninth Plan:



(in Lakhs)

Amount received

(in Lakhs)

Amount utilized (in Lakhs)















21.    A Science Building with all facilities, sanctioned by the Planning Commission of India, is nearing completion.


                                                                                            Source : Principal, Diphu Govt. College